Hocus Focus!

I just can’t stop thinking about the flower show that I visited yesterday! I was eagerly waiting for it, after all, I get to click a lot of pictures. πŸ˜‰ I had decided that my next contribution to Raj’s Learn Photography would be after my visit to the flower show. I wanted to use all the tips that Raj gave me in few of my previous posts on Learn Photography.

The topic for this week is Sharpness. Since most of my subjects are flowers, I decided to get a bit creative. I was switching between manual and guide mode.

This is my all time favorite (since yesterday). The flower shown below is called Helichrysum. There were loads and loads of helichrysums but I decided to focus on this bud.

DSC_0157

EXIF Data :
Exposure time: 1/200
ISO-1100

 

DSC_0154

EXIF Data :
Exposure time: 1/200
ISO-800

Celosia

DSC_0167

EXIF Data :
Exposure time: 1/200
ISO-720

The above three photographs were clicked while on manual mode (M). I kept ISO settings to auto.

 

There was a lot of purple around but I tried to focus on the greens. Resulting in? The below photograph says it all.

DSC_0148

EXIF Data :
Exposure time: 1/60
ISO-400

 

Creative cactus! Of colors yellow, pink and red, these beauties are some eye candy! Don’t they look like scoops of yummy ice cream? Thorny ice cream!!  πŸ˜›

DSC_0211

EXIF Data :
Exposure time: 1/25
ISO-400

 

And this one is my favorite too. Coxcomb! They were large in size and number. And there was one pink coxcomb that was bigger than my face. I tried clicking a selfie and… neither my face nor the coxcomb was in the photo. I am bad at taking selfies and I am bad in front of the camera!! I can’t make duck faces!! 

DSC_0096 (2)

EXIF Data :
Exposure time: 1/30
ISO-200

Don’t they look like colored broccoli? πŸ˜‰

 

26 Comments Add yours

  1. kittysverses says:

    Wow!! Each one is a beauty here, kudos to your skills πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Rekha says:

      Thank you so much, kitty πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

      1. kittysverses says:

        Welcome, Rekha πŸ™‚

        Like

  2. calmkate says:

    totally agree with Kitty, she said it well .. you’ve learnt well πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. Rekha says:

      πŸ’—πŸ’— thanks Kate

      Liked by 1 person

      1. calmkate says:

        you are most welcome Rekha πŸ™‚

        Like

  3. Orange says:

    Awesome pictures. I think soon we’ll have an assistant professor for photography πŸ˜€

    So so perfect! πŸ’™

    Like

    1. Rekha says:

      πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ assistant professor πŸ™ˆ all those who finish post doc or PhD and join colleges are taken as assistant professors. Baad mein professor …
      Thank you πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ’—πŸ’—πŸŒΉπŸŒΉ

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Rekha says:

      Thank you πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Raj says:

    Wow.. What did you do to these flowers? They are smiling at you with happiness! Spectacular contribution Rekha.. right on the topic!

    Pic 1: Perfect focus on the subject. Sharp and clean.. Nothing to complain about. Beautiful subject isolation. You have not mentioned about aperture and the focal length for all the shots that info is important. Here you could have gone bit closer and shot in portrait mode in my opinion. Here the interest is only the subject.

    Pic 2: Again nicely done shot. Liked the composition too, perfect β€œbreathing space”. Although you could have avoided the blurry flower in the background. Focus looks like on the tip of the flower. I am sure you had wide open aperture here, probably you could have tried with f8 that would have put the whole flower sharp. Also hope you have taken some extreme close up s of the flower’s inner beauty.

    Pic 3: Lovely shot and nicely executed. Perfect for a wallpaper! This is the perfect example where you don’t need breathing space. You could have tried taking this shot at aperture f11 or something to put more sharpness range here. Bottom two stray leaves could have been avoided.

    Pic 4: Again a great wallpaper. You have done a great setting here to just focus on the greens. This produces the subject separation and adds 3rd dimension. Again no breathing space required (as done here)

    Pic 5: Nice stand up of colorful cactus. All are posing nicely. Only drawback here is the background. That green cloth is not contributing to the shot. Probably you should have taken this shot from higher level..(not from top but at 45 degrees) that way your screen covers maximum cactus and top 1/3 of the screen with the green plants.

    Pic 6: Bit of confusion here. Viewer first sees the yellow as it’s focused and sharp but its cutoff on the right. So user will drift to the left towards the left pink ones, but again it’s not sharp, so he goes to other sets but not able to find a sharp picture. Hope you get the point. You have to decide on the objective before you take the shot. I would go for good close up of yellow filling 3/4th of the screen here.
    Great set of pictures and perfect submission for the topic β€œSharpness” this is the great way to learn about taking sharp pictures. Yes one needs to be like a sniper aiming for a kill while doing such photographs and needs lot of patience.

    That duck face… comment is funny! πŸ˜€
    This critical review is part of XDrive Photo Learning Session on β€œSharpness”. Thanks Rekha for making a fantastic contribution.
    Raj

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Rekha says:

      Thank you, Raj πŸ˜€πŸ˜€
      The flower show was jam packed this time. Unless someone pushed me and I fell on these flowers, I couldn’t get more closer shotsπŸ˜‰ I was clicking on full zoom. May be I need to crop the photos πŸ™‚ pic 2-i have taken some close ups of the flower’s inner beauty. I am really happy that you call my photos wallpaper types πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€ I will get back with the other exif data soon. The cactus is about 4-5inches above the ground and I was almost doing urulu seve to click that pic. I have tried various angles, I will be posting them soon. I wanted to post only about these colorful cactus, clicked a lot of them πŸ˜€ I agree with pic 6, the coxcombs looks a bit imperfect.
      Thanks again Raj πŸ˜€ *I was smiling while typing this comment *

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Raj says:

        First of all.. glad to bring that “smile” … and we all need that. πŸ’—
        Sincerely I felt most of the pictures have come out excellent..Yes I agree its very easy to comment from my sofa .. 😁 😁
        But you should take both the lenses and use mostly the tele lens as you can get close to the subject..
        Cheers to you.

        Like

      2. Rekha says:

        Thank you πŸ˜€πŸ˜€ it’s difficult to focus zoom lens in that crowd. Hopefully by next flower show, I ll macro lens πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Rekha says:

      Thank you πŸ™‚πŸ™‚

      Like

  5. Amy says:

    Well done, Rekha! Lovely flower captures. πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. Rekha says:

      Thank you, Amy πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  6. judithreid says:

    Gorgeous photos – love them. Thank you for sharing πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. Rekha says:

      Thanks Judith πŸ™‚

      Like

  7. Dahlia says:

    Awesome photos Rekha, you seem to be an amazing student πŸ˜€ They do look like colored broccoli πŸ˜‰

    Like

    1. Rekha says:

      Thanks D. πŸ˜€ Haha, you agree with me, don’t you πŸ˜‰ I think instead of just green, they should come up with such nice Colors for broccoli πŸ˜‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

