Lalbagh Flower Show – Aug, 2017

It’s hardly been three hours since I came back from the flower show and I just can’t wait to share the photographs with my fellow bloggers!

The theme for Independence day flower show, 2017 was Kuvempu’s house. Kuvempu was one of the most famous Kannada Novelist and Poet. (Kannada is the state language of Karnataka) I have been to Kuvempu’s house in Kuppali. I have also visited the Kavishaala. I am will be posting about it sometime soon. I had plans to write a post on Kuppali but I was down with an eye infection so I was not able to.

So, moving on, I visited the flower show today (11th August, 2017). The flower show started from 4th of August and would end on 15th (Independence Day). The first Floral Decor I saw was a peacock. This peacock decor has become a regular affair from past three flower shows. The last two were peacocks adorned with orchids. This year, the peacocks were adorned with Begonia and other flowers.

DSC_0025

I wanted to click a photograph of this in a different angle but I was surrounded by lot of selfie lovers! I really do not understand selfies! I had to wait for people to finish with their posing and pouting and making duck faces!!! I finally lost my patience; I am sure I photobombed a lot of selfies. πŸ˜›

Moving on, Begonia hearts are also another regular affair from the flower show of Jan, 2017.

DSC_0034 (2)

However, this time, each heart was made of different colored Begonias. In the last flower show, all hearts were made of red begonias.

The next two photographs are also what I call a “regular affair”. I call these flower-falls.

DSC_0035 (2)

 

DSC_0036 (2)

 

Elephant-sized cactus! Or, should I just call it obese? πŸ˜‰

DSC_0060 (2)

 

Creative cactus! I really love these colored thingies! They look so bright and colorful!!

DSC_0061 (2)

 

The next photo has a funny story attached to it.

I was clicking photographs when a mother-daughter stood right next to me. The mother wanted to know if the thorns on these cactus are sharp enough. So the darling daughter touched the cactus and “ouch! it hurts!” . And then, the mother too has her share of “ouch! it hurts”!!!!

DSC_0067 (2)

They might look thorn-o-cious but they are not that bad!

The replica of Kuvempu’s house was made with red and white flowers. And most of the white flowers had wilted. Though they spray mists of water every five minutes or so ( the white ‘fog’ that you will see in a couple of photographs below), with a lot of crowd and heat, the flowers looked pale and brownish. So, I did not click a lot of pictures of the main theme.

DSC_0066 (2)

 

DSC_0194

Apart from a replica of Kuvempu’s house, a replica of Kavishaila was on display. But these were not made of flowers. Kavishaila is a structure made of stones.

The ones here were not made of stones!

DSC_0089

 

DSC_0136

 

DSC_0138

 

DSC_0123

 

DSC_0124

There were loads and loads of beautiful flowers this time. I will be posting them in my 365 days of flower photography posts.

But that doesn’t mean I am not going to post any, now!!

Lovely Dahlias.

DSC_0070 (2)

Coxcombs

DSC_0096 (2)

I think these are impatiens. Correct me if I am wrong.

DSC_0140

Finally, some flowers and the lovely crowd that I had to push through so that I can click better photographs πŸ˜›

DSC_0088 (2)

 

Finally, special thanks to Raj for photography tips. I was switching between manual mode and guide mode for all the above photographs.

51 Comments Add yours

  1. Sunith says:

    Beautifully captured Rekha. It is such a lovely sight and soothing to the eyes.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Rekha says:

      Thanks Sunith ji πŸ™‚ it was a wonderful experience. Flowers are always beautiful πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Orange says:

    A-M-A-Z-I-N-G pictures!
    Its so damn fucking beautiful that I’m really getting uncontrollable and excited seeing them.
    Aaahhhh! ಬಹಳ ΰ²šΰ³†ΰ²¨ΰ³ΰ²¨ΰ²Ύΰ²—ΰ²Ώΰ²¦ΰ³†πŸ™‚πŸ™‚πŸ™‚πŸ’₯πŸ’₯πŸ’₯

    Thank you so so much for sharing these, here and there 😁
    😘😘😘

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Rekha says:

      Here and there πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚control Maadi.πŸ˜ΉπŸ˜›πŸ˜› The flowers this time were really pretty. πŸ™‚πŸ™‚

      Like

      1. Orange says:

        Namma flowers πŸ˜„
        😝

        Like

      2. Rekha says:

        πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

        Like

  3. Orange says:

    ಅದ್ಭುಀ tips by Raj Guru πŸ˜‚
    After 4 years, I’ll read his posts to learn photography. πŸ˜πŸ™ˆ

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Rekha says:

      Why wait for four years? πŸ˜‘πŸ€”

      Like

      1. Orange says:

        See, if I do something, I want to do it perfectly. If I learn photography from him, I want to do it using a DSLR so that I can try everything he says, I want to follow those tips and click pictures, I want to learn perfectly, I want to be the best student πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚
        This is not possible now for 2 reasons:
        1. DSLR is 1796 kms away from me.
        2. Time constraints
        3. I don’t have the Josh to do it now πŸ™ˆ
        So….

        Like

      2. Rekha says:

        Baap re! Essay competition mein participate kar Rahi ho kya? πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Orange says:

        Namma new posht nodi, inspired by Namma Rekha 😎

        Like

    2. Raj says:

      What if after 4 years Raj Guru not there to teach you? πŸ˜‡ 😁It does not matter what type of camera you have.Learning happens on the fly.. there is no good time or bad time..

      Like

      1. Orange says:

        πŸ™ƒ your posts will always be there, the photography lessons ones! πŸ˜πŸ™ˆ
        And after 4 years the sun and moon will assemble perfectly, all the stars will be in perfect positions, and it will be the perfect muhuratam to learn photography βœ”πŸ’―πŸ˜›

        Like

      2. Rekha says:

        Solar eclipse is on 21august of this year πŸ˜›πŸ˜›πŸ˜› woh bhi total solar eclipse in many places (in USA)
        Btw, even if stars are in perfect position, you will know about it years later because light from them takes years to reach earth πŸ˜›πŸ˜›πŸ˜›πŸ˜›πŸ˜›πŸ˜›πŸ˜›

        Like

      3. Orange says:

        Bah!🐍 I’m gonna consult an astrologer for the muhuratam. He knows everything already. He knows when you and N will meet too! πŸ˜‚

        Like

      4. Rekha says:

        Let me guess – never ever ever πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚
        How much can one believe in astrology – the stars have changed their position so whatever prediction was made no longer holds good (not completely)

        Like

      5. Orange says:

        On a serious note, I don’t know if I really believe in astrology. I’ve never been to any astrologer…
        But I certainly don’t believe in Muhuratam for learning somethingπŸ˜‚

        Like

      6. Rekha says:

        Pakdi gayi πŸ˜›πŸ˜›πŸ˜›πŸ˜›

        Like

      7. Orange says:

        Don’t tell me you thought that I was counsulting an astrologer for you and…πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚
        Never ever πŸ’˜πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

        Like

      8. Rekha says:

        Naanu kivi hinde cauliflower ittila πŸ˜πŸ˜›πŸ˜› no ways!!! πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

        Like

      9. Orange says:

        πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚
        Lol

        Like

      10. Rekha says:

        Exactly Raj guru ji. πŸ˜€πŸ˜€ I too started photography with a normal camera (not even SLR). Then once I started working and started saving money, I purchased DSLR. πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      11. Raj says:

        That’s the right approach Rekha.. πŸ™‚

        Like

  4. Rupali says:

    Beautiful gallery Rekha!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Rekha says:

      Thank you , Rupali πŸ™‚πŸ™‚

      Like

  5. magarisa says:

    Impressive exhibition and lovely pictures!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Rekha says:

      Thanks MπŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

      1. magarisa says:

        My pleasure!

        Like

  6. calmkate says:

    great shots, had wondered about the mist, thanks for explaining .. is that all your prime ministers? love the Mount Everest of flowers … thanks heaps for sharing your visit πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. Rekha says:

      That is timeline of Kuvempu. The theme was based on him as it’s been 50years since he was awarded jnanapith award. πŸ™‚ The mount Everest of flowers are always there. Somehow I don’t find them very attractive. πŸ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

      1. calmkate says:

        unusual rather than attractive …

        Like

      2. Rekha says:

        The Stonehenge thingy is called kavishaala. I have visited it, I ll be writing about it soon πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      3. calmkate says:

        will be good to get a translation … do you think my poetry is remarkable enough to do an annual flower show for me?

        Like

      4. Rekha says:

        Yes. I will write about it in detail πŸ™‚ I just emailed you about the poetry thing

        Liked by 1 person

  7. Abhay says:

    Stunning clicks.

    Like

    1. Rekha says:

      Thank you πŸ˜€ from your posts, it was kinda evident that you have traveled a lot. Ever been to the flower show in Bangalore?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Abhay says:

        Actually, I don’t travel a lot, but I crave for it. Only once been to Banglore, that too I guess 9 years ago, didn’t remember much much except ISKCON temple and a big garden, did not remember its name.

        Like

      2. Rekha says:

        That big garden must be either Lalbagh or cubbon park. πŸ˜‚ The flower show happens twice everyday year, in Lalbagh.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Abhay says:

        M not sure, but one aspect is remembered by me is that it was inundated by flowers and bumblebees, I mean to say couplesπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

        Like

  8. Megala says:

    Wow! So beautiful !! Thanks for these lovely photos!

    Like

    1. Rekha says:

      πŸ™‚πŸ™‚ you’re welcome, meg.

      Liked by 1 person

  9. A very beautiful exhibition,..a very nicely captured.

    Like

    1. Rekha says:

      Thanks Jyoti πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Rekha says:

      Thanks Pradita πŸ™‚

      Like

  10. Raj says:

    Wonderful post Rekha.. clearly the pictures come out very well. Dahlias my favorite pick from the set. Please invest on a macro as soon as possible. It is a must have lens for you.Once you use it you will forget about your kit lens. Great going!

    Like

    1. Rekha says:

      πŸ˜€πŸ˜€ thanks to you, Raj. Yes, when I reached there I realised I should have had a macro lens . All these pics were clicked with maximum zoom available in 55mm lens. Before next flower show, I will have a macro lens in my camera bag πŸ˜€πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Rekha says:

      Thanks Shalini πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

