Breathing Space!

Rule of thirds -this is something I learned a year ago. That is helping me click better photographs.

This week, or rather last week, Raj Guru ( not the one from adventures of Tenali πŸ˜‰ ) asked us to experiment with Rule of thirds/breathing space.

 

DSC_0038

EXIF data :
ISO Speed : 1/400
Exposure Time : 1/60
Focal length: 60

DSC_0039

EXIF Data :
ISO Speed : 1/400
Exposure Time: 1/60
Focal length : 82

 

Which do you think looks better? In the first photo, the flower looks tiny, and there is a lot of green and what-not everywhere! How about the second photo? The flower looks so happy that it is finally getting all the attention. πŸ˜‰

 

Rule of thirds…

DSC_0040

EXIF Data :
ISO Speed : 1/400
Exposure Time: 1/60
Focal length: 82

 

DSC_0048 (2)

EXIF Data :
ISO Speed : 1/100
Exposure Time: 1/250
Focal length: 82

 

Followed by some prickly rules…DSC_0052

EXIF Data :
ISO Speed : 400
Exposure Time: 1/60
Focal length: 57

 

I manually set the ISO to 400 for four photographs. The one with purple-white flower was clicked with auto mode ON.

 

Post submitted for Raj’s Learn Photography 3 and 4

 

35 Comments Add yours

  1. calmkate says:

    I really like how you already photograph flowers .. up real close and personal, works for me πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. Rekha says:

      Thanks Kate πŸ™‚ I like to click pictures of flowers πŸ˜€πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

      1. calmkate says:

        and you do it super well, maybe you could teach others how to photograph flowers πŸ™‚

        Like

      2. Rekha says:

        Raj is a better teacher than me πŸ˜€πŸ˜‰ I can teach well, but not photography. Math and science perhaps πŸ˜‰πŸ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

      3. calmkate says:

        flower photography .. i was very specific πŸ™‚
        You can do anything you set your mind to πŸ™‚

        Like

      4. Rekha says:

        Yess πŸ˜€ but I like math better πŸ˜‰πŸ˜‰πŸ˜‰

        Liked by 1 person

      5. calmkate says:

        better than flowers?? na 😦

        Like

      6. Rekha says:

        πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ there is math everywhere Kate. Remember golden ratio? πŸ˜‰

        Liked by 1 person

      7. calmkate says:

        no, what ya talkin about? yes, maths is everywhere …

        Like

      8. Rekha says:

        So see the connection? Flower petals are arranged in golden ratio. Golden ratio is a math concept. So what should I teach? Math or flower photography? πŸ˜‰πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

        Liked by 1 person

      9. calmkate says:

        oh what a beautiful marriage, you are an all out romantic … who’d have guessed [blush] πŸ™‚

        Like

      10. Rekha says:

        πŸ˜‰πŸ˜‰πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

        Liked by 1 person

      11. calmkate says:

        ya daft woose, you hadn’t realised it .. lol πŸ™‚

        Like

  2. Raj says:

    Pic 1: Sharply focused red rose! Definitely cant miss.. Who doesn’t like red roses? The rose looks lonely. As you said it’s too small for that frame. Also, there is lot of background distractions. You have not mentioned the aperture for the shots, hope you had wide open aperture.

    Pic 2: Looks far better than the first one! The focal length you have choses induces the background blur. Flower looks like floating! That’s what needed for portraits and close-up shots. I feel still you could go closer as except the flower there is nothing else in the picture, and probably portrait mode, so that hiding that pot and have only leaves in the background? If possible crop it and post for the justification.

    Pic 3: This is what I call β€œLovely Shot”! Light is playing beautiful shadows and highlights on the soft petals. That’s what flower should show off. But I feel that your aperture settings are not optimal. You should be at maximum open aperture that way the background would have been blurred better. Also since flower is facing slightly to the left, probably your breathing space could be on the left of the subject.

    Pic 4: I think the focus on the flower is missing here; probably camera focused one the center? Under these shooting conditions you have to use focus locking. Have you done that? Also I feel that there is lot of green space on the right side of the frame which is not contributing to the subject. Since the flower is facing all possible directions, I would place the subject in the center.

    Pic 5: This picture is mainly about details and intricate design. This shot definitely needs a close-up. Or even a macro shot. There is no need for breathing space here as our intention under these conditions should be β€œshow the details”.
    Also you have wrongly mentioned the ISO as 1/400 it should be just 400 πŸ™‚

    Thanks Rekha for the contribution. This critical review is part of XDrive Photography Session.

    -Raj

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Rekha says:

      Thank you so much Raj. Pic 5: I have made that correction (ISO-400)
      All the other pics : I have a 18-55mm and 55-200mm zoom lens. I use only 18-55mm lens. All these photos were taken at max zoom possible. I think for a more closer shot I need a macro lens. The problem I face is “if I keep it at max zoom and try to click from a closer range”, the camera keeps trying to focus and doesn’t click/sometimes I get a completely blurred image. The only options that I could find on my camera was adjusting ISO and some predefined aperture/exposure values. I still need to search for focus lock and all that. I am still struggling with manual mode. However I think for these photos I used mode A. That is aperture right? I still have to learn a lot about manual mode.
      About pic 3, I had third rule in mind while I clicked it. I don’t know if by third rule, they mean the object should always be on the right. I thought it could be on the left too, but wasn’t sure.
      I still need to learn a lot about these manual modes. Are you going to teach them in more detail later on? Or, if you could help out, I can send you an email.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Raj says:

        Ok Rekha, regarding the issue on focusing, I think you must be trying to focus from too close… that is every lens has a minimum focusing distance. It could be something like 25 cm for your kit lens. That means if you go closer than that it simply will not focus. But it should not a problem because you have zoomed maximum. You could try manual focusing in such situations.

        Yes β€œA” mode is aperture priority mode, that’s the correct mode to use. Set the aperture to smallest number and let the camera choose the corresponding shutter speed for you based on the light conditions. This is a semi-automatic mode (not manual mode) . This is the best mode for photos of flowers and portraits.

        About 3rd pic, yes by rule of thirds your image can be anywhere, remember you have 3 possible positions to place the subject based on your situation. If you enable the grid lines on your camera it would show up that during shooting so that you can position them in those 4 points. In this case you would keep the center of the flower in the intersection.

        Focus locking is nothing but, haft pressing your shutter button, so that camera does the focusing, now keep your fingers still half pressed, recompose to your scene and completing the click. This was your focusing is still on the subject. This is very useful when your subject is not going to be on the center of the frame(when you want to apply rule of thirds for e.g)

        Yes I will write about the camera functionalities too. We will cover all basics. But note you still have ISO noted as 1/100 etc on other flowers.

        Like

      2. Rekha says:

        Okay. I have used focus locking a couple of times. I did not know it was called that. πŸ˜€ I use it most of the time, it keeps the photo in focus.
        And yes, the problem with focus is because I try to click from a close range. I have a 24.2 MP camera and I can always drop the photo but I like the objects to cover the space completely. I should focus from a distance and then try cropping the images.
        Sure, I will be waiting for your post on camera functionalities. Thank you so much Raj πŸ˜€πŸ˜€ Raj guruji πŸ‘πŸ˜€

        Like

      3. Raj says:

        In your case cropping is the only choice until you buy a macro lens. May I know the camera model? I will suggest based on that. I do cropping too as I don’t have a macro lens! πŸ˜†

        Like

      4. Rekha says:

        Nikon D3200. I am in two minds about buying a macro lens. Since photography is just a hobby and I don’t photograph on a daily basis, I am really confused if buying macro lens is a good option. πŸ˜…

        Liked by 1 person

      5. Raj says:

        Rekha here are the options for you.
        Nikon AF-S DX Micro 40mm F/2.8G Prime : This is the dedicated macro lens and you will just love the output … this also can be used as walk around lens.
        Nikon AF-S DX Nikkor 35mm f/1.8G Prime: Cheaper option but not a macro lens, but it will do can do a work as all walk around lens, important thing is is its 1.8 aperture… Must have if you are not buying the top option.
        Nikon AF-S Nikkor 50mm f/1.8G Prime: Same as the above, generally used for portrait photography.
        But after seeing type of photography you are doing, buying the first lens is the best fit for you. Even I dont do photography on daily basis..its just a time pass.

        Like

      6. Rekha says:

        Thank you so much, Raj πŸ™‚ I ll choose the first one, based on your recommendation πŸ˜€ since I do a lot of flower photography, sometimes I feel I need to have a macro lens in my camera bag πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      7. Raj says:

        And with that lens, you can do all your photography.. You dont need to carry another lens.. carry other lens only when you are on travel.. Keep that fixed all the time.. Its 1.8 A so you will be able to do some extraordinary night shots and portraits…

        Like

      8. Rekha says:

        Sure πŸ˜€ I was just checking. The price is quite high, atleast I expected it to be within 10k range πŸ˜‚ I will buy in a couple of months πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      9. Raj says:

        Actually for a macro lens its not that expensive.. Nikon lenses are cheaper.. Yes plan and buy … wait accumulate money and go for it.

        Like

      10. Rekha says:

        Oh okay. I got a zoom lens and 18-55mm as a part of camera package. So I have no idea how much individual lenses cost. πŸ˜€ I heard Tamron lenses are okay when compared to Nikon. Since I have a Nikon camera, I would prefer to buy lenses of the same brand πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      11. Raj says:

        Lenses cost anything upto 1 L for general purpose too.. but it all depends on your pocket. But spending about 18K for a Macro lens I suggested is highly recommended for your type of photography. Once you start shooting with them you will almost forget about all other lenses. Even when you upgrade your camera, keep this lens. That’s what people do.

        Like

      12. Rekha says:

        Yes. πŸ˜€ The flower show is starting from this Friday. I cannot buy lens by then. May be by next flower show, I will buy a macro lens πŸ˜€πŸ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

      13. Raj says:

        Thats fine.. this time make sure to go with A mode, keep your aperture wide open (lowest number) . Do a manual focusing… (Hope you dont have eye sight issue) Try to go closer to the flower than zooming when ever possible…Good luck!

        Like

      14. Rekha says:

        No eye sight issue πŸ˜€ thanks Raj πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Good effort and nice photography

    Like

  4. Megala says:

    Beautiful clicks!

    Like

Leave a Reply

