The painter’s muse

“What do you want to be when you grow up, little Akaash?”

“An artist!”

” No ways! You are going to be a doctor, just like your daddy!”

“My daddy was an artist. I want to grow up to be an artist too. He was one of the best artists in India. ”

“Oh yes, and then he found his muse – Alcohol! His new-found love killed him! Your new daddy is a doctor. I want you to be like him and not like your alcoholic, biological father!”

“NOOOO!” Akaash runs to his room and locks the door. “Mumma has changed. Ever since she met that monster, she’s changed. She knows that he hates me. She knows he hits me. I don’t like him. ”

—– 20 years later——-

“So Akaash, you have everything in life, except for one thing! Come on, GAL – get a life, find a girl for yourself.”

“I have everything in my life. This girl that I keep painting – my muse, I know she is there somewhere, waiting for me. ”

“Ah! The girl in your dreams! Dreams don’t come true until you turn them into reality!”

“That is what I am doing, by painting her. I see her everywhere. She comforts me, she understands me. She loves me.”

“And she does not exist!”

“My paintings are being auctioned tomorrow. I really need to get going now. I have to meet the manager of Royal Auction House.”

“Ya ya! You always find a reason to dodge me, don’t you? Fine, go ahead. Let me just remind you that there will come a time when all your friends settle down and get busy with their own life. You will be all alone.”

“I know I will meet her soon. I know I will.”

—-Next day, at the auction house—–

 

Akaash was looking at one of his paintings – the girl in blue salwar. That is what he called the painting. She looked just like a princess. He was so engrossed in the painting that …. SLAP!!

“Huh! Who was that?!”

“Akaash, my boy! I am Mr. Gupta. Remember me? We were neighbors …”

“Of course I remember you uncle!”

“Let me introduce you to my daughter.. (calls out ) Beta Pinky…”

And what happened next was a scene straight from one of the Bollywood movies!

It was Pinky – the girl in his dreams; his muse; the girl he had been waiting for! (And Miss Pink was wearing a blue salwar!)


 

I know I am bad at writing love stories and I really need to improve! I usually write horror/thriller. It’s so easy to come up with a thriller story you see – kill the hero in the end. JOB DONE πŸ˜‰ So, did you like this story? Do you think it needs a bit more err… garam masala? πŸ˜‰ Or the better question would be – Should I stick to writing ONLY mystery, horror and thriller stories? 
Image courtesy: Pinterest 

41 Comments Add yours

  1. Good you didn’t kill the hero.. let him have a second chance

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Rekha says:

      Haha yes πŸ˜‰ sometimes it’s good to keep the hero aliveπŸ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Prajakta says:

    Glad that it was a happy ending

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Rekha says:

      Thanks Prajakta πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. calmkate says:

    really well written, you have talent πŸ™‚
    So much better if you leave the ending open just as your story is and delete that fake ending where he dies an alcoholic, please πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. Rekha says:

      Sure πŸ˜€ doing it right away

      Liked by 1 person

      1. calmkate says:

        good on you πŸ™‚

        Like

  4. calmkate says:

    PS love the artwork with, so bright and cheerful, is it one of yours?

    Like

    1. Rekha says:

      Na. Found it on Pinterest. πŸ˜€ I don’t draw hearts, Kate πŸ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

      1. calmkate says:

        I’d suggest that you start to … call it part of your ‘romance’ therapy!

        Like

      2. Rekha says:

        πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ nah!

        Liked by 1 person

      3. calmkate says:

        what … I offer you free therapy and you throw it back in my face …hmmm, maybe I should unfollow you 😦

        Like

      4. Rekha says:

        πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

        Liked by 1 person

      5. calmkate says:

        twat … πŸ˜‰

        Like

      6. Rekha says:

        πŸ˜‰πŸ˜‰

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Sunith says:

    It is good you kept the happy ending, because sincere efforts should be rewarded πŸ™‚ Nice little story.

    Like

    1. Rekha says:

      Thank you, Sunith πŸ™‚
      I usually end my stories with a twist – paranormal or something alike πŸ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Mahesh Mali says:

    Hero must be happy with your decision to keep him alive 😁

    Like

    1. Rekha says:

      πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ Khare sangle πŸ˜‰

      Like

      1. Mahesh Mali says:

        Jeevandan bhetla bicharyala kadhi nahi te πŸ˜‚

        Like

      2. Rekha says:

        Itna Marathi nahi aata hai mujhe πŸ˜› Khare sangle are Konkani words too, north canara dialect πŸ˜€

        Like

      3. Mahesh Mali says:

        I mean Jeevandan mil gaya bechare ko 😁

        Like

      4. Rekha says:

        Acha. I thought it was “jeevandan karke tumhe uska Jaan bachaya” πŸ˜‚

        Like

      5. Mahesh Mali says:

        Voh toh aapne kiya hi hai 😁
        bahot punya kamaya apne πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

        Like

      6. Rekha says:

        πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜ΉπŸ˜ΉπŸ˜Ή

        Like

  7. Bikramjit says:

    Well lovely story and romantic too.. finally he meets the girl of his dreams.. lucky man..

    Like

    1. Rekha says:

      😹😹 agar woh achi nahi hui toh? πŸ˜›

      Like

      1. Bikramjit says:

        Then that’s his luck.. at least he can say dream came true..πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£

        Like

  8. Sweet! All you miss is the depth of emotions.

    Like

    1. Rekha says:

      Thanks VD πŸ˜€ yes. I need to improve on that.

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Orange says:

    You should definitely not stick to writing thrillers and horrors. This was a really well written story! πŸ™‚
    And masala, salt, everything is in the right proportion here😁

    Like

    1. Rekha says:

      Only fried rice is missing πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‰
      Thanks orange. I should still work on the emotions part I guess – a daft of air and her dupatta went phurrr in the air and it landed on his faceπŸ˜›πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Novelist Rekhaji, well done! Did I tell you I like happy endings 😁

    Like

    1. Rekha says:

      YessssssπŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€ you told me, R πŸ˜€
      Thank you πŸ˜€

      Like

  11. magarisa says:

    I enjoyed the story – you did a good job!

    Like

    1. Rekha says:

      Thank you πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

      1. magarisa says:

        My pleasure 😊

        Like

  12. Haha! A bit filmy but I liked it.:D

    Like

    1. Rekha says:

      Too filmy πŸ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

      1. πŸ˜€ Oh yeah πŸ˜› πŸ˜‰

        Like

Leave a Reply

