A trip to Mangalore

on

It was quite a bumpy landing. Mangalore airport is a table top airport, and that means less runway, and sometimes a bumpy landing. The journey from Bangalore city to the airport was no good either. Traffic jams, pollution and rains! But I was looking forward to my stay in Mangalore. After all, I invited by… Ah! Let’s keep that a suspense for now. 

So, I reached the airport, there was a long queue at the baggage collection counter. I was really tired and sweaty, after all, I cannot adjust well to the hot and humid climate of the coast. I reach the arrival counter and someone screams “akkaaaaa”. And there she is, wearing jeans and a pink top, with pig tails, the very pretty, one and only – Varahi! I see the whole Karkera family waiting for me at the arrival. Finally, the three bloggers meet! We say our hi’s and hellos. And I just can’t stop pulling Varahi’s chubby cheeks. 

Off we go, to the Karkera house. Mrs. Karkera says she’s prepared a nice mangaluru lunch. Slurp! I can’t wait to gorge on all the yummy dishes. Varahi and I talk about her chomp chomp munch munch blog post. And Raj says “you both need to talk about something other than food. ”

And it’s lunch time. I can smell chicken sukka and fish fry. A lavish lunch is laid on the table – kori rotti and chicken Gashi, makerel fry, chicken sukka, and shavige paysa. Varahi and I both shout together “attack” and we start chomp chomp munch munch on all the food. That was one of the best meals I had ever had! 

Raj had promised to take me to the best ice cream parlor in Mangalore. He says even ideals and pubbas are not at par with the one he’s taking us to. Varahi and I make a list of all the ice creams we are going to eat – tiramisu,gudbud, chocolate and many more! And of course, once we reached the ice cream parlor, there was more of chomp chomp munch munch. 

Then the Karkera family says “let’s go the beach”. Long time since I visited the panambur beach so I am really excited about the beach trip. Raj says “you three (kids), don’t tire yourself. We are going to sultan battery tomorrow.” (I can’t stop smiling because ..well… I am not a kid.. atleast not by age πŸ˜‰)

The sunset is so beautiful! An orange ball of light slowly descending into the ocean – and then… I see something. A bright ball of light. It’s moving towards me, at a very high speed. And it’s growing bigger and bigger… Finally, it’s so bright that I can hardly see the ocean. 

“Oh well, get up now! You don’t want to be late for college, do you?”

“That’s my mum’s voice! When did she ..?”

“Get up!”

I open my eyes, and it’s my room. Oh gosh! I am really late today. It’s 6.45 already and my classes start at 7.30!!!! 

39 Comments Add yours

  1. that was a real good dream..

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Rekha says:

      Haha πŸ˜‰ thanks πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Orange says:

    I enjoyed reading it so so much, and I wanted to read more and more, and then your mom woke you up!
    Believe me when I say that every single time someone describes a dream, or ends a story with “it was a dream”, I figure it out. This time I couldn’t πŸ˜‚

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Rekha says:

      πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ I was so late that I forgot it was a dream πŸ˜› this story was bugging me from past two days. By bugging, I mean I really wanted to pen it down. πŸ˜€πŸ˜€ Finally, I decided this morning that I ll write and post it πŸ˜€

      Like

      1. Orange says:

        Really good that you wrote, Varahi and Raj will enjoy reading it, and ofcourse everyone else too πŸ˜‚

        Liked by 2 people

      2. Rekha says:

        πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

        Like

  3. Bikramjit says:

    I hope you made to the class on time then..
    😁

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Rekha says:

      πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ I had to rush

      Like

      1. Bikramjit says:

        Offcourse.. I bet

        Like

  4. What a wonderful dream. Why do they always end at the most exciting moment???πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Rekha says:

      Haha. Nija R. It always ends when there is something exciting that is about to happen πŸ˜”

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Raj says:

    As I was reading …it I though I am in dream!! πŸ˜†
    Now lets talk about dream coming true… That’s exactly what Karkera family wants to do. 😍

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Rekha says:

      Haha πŸ˜‰ dream or reality? πŸ˜‰ Done 😎 I ll drop by sometime πŸ˜€ December perhaps. I used to visit mangalore in December for karavali utsav, I don’t know if they still host it πŸ€”

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Raj says:

        Yes it happens still.. but in my opinion Dasara time is the best to be in Mangalore, especially the last day night long procession.. 😍

        Like

      2. Rekha says:

        Oh yes. That simha vesha and all. Even bhootakola at around same time right? Fine then. Let me check holiday list. I think navami and dashami are on Thursday Friday. πŸ˜€ So 4days of gammat πŸ˜€πŸ˜€

        Like

      3. Raj says:

        Actually the grand procession is on 30th Saturday which almost lasts till next morning.. Thats spectacular.. even for photography. Yes.. full gammat for 10 days! 😁

        Like

      4. Rekha says:

        Raje sikidre I ll come πŸ˜€πŸ˜€

        Like

  6. Good story about many a blogger’s dream

    Like

    1. Rekha says:

      πŸ™‚πŸ™‚ the father-daughter duo are bloggers πŸ˜€
      Thanks Derrick πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  7. calmkate says:

    ha ha great dream, nice to include your blogger mates and you had me sucked in with that focus on food … guess I know your weakness now πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Rekha says:

      Mangalorean food is awesome! Especially chicken sukka-made of coarsely ground fresh coconut, coriander seeds, garlic, onion and chicken. Slurp πŸ˜‹πŸ˜‹ and it so happens that mangalore is also famous for all those varieties of ice creams that I mentioned πŸ˜€πŸ˜€

      Liked by 2 people

      1. calmkate says:

        ok ok I’m just preparing dinner and now you’ve got me salivating! Stop it, please … you can visit them on your way north to see me πŸ™‚

        Like

  8. Rupali says:

    Just so you know, I do care about your dreams πŸ™‚ . Make sure you have such interesting ones πŸ˜€
    About class & college… woh chalta hai πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. Rekha says:

      Haha yes, Rupali πŸ™‚ I have been getting pretty interesting dreams these days. πŸ˜€
      Class and all, may be. This was just a story πŸ˜‰ in real life, it would be like a nightmare to be late for college. πŸ˜‚

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Goodreads says:

    Very interesting dream akkaπŸ˜…πŸ˜‰ Really enjoyed reading it.πŸ˜‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Rekha says:

      πŸ˜‰πŸ˜‰ I wanted to write this. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Goodreads says:

        When you visit, we’ll go to pabbas and chomp chomp🍧 🍨 🍦 🍰 .

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Rekha says:

        Yes πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€ tiramisuπŸ˜‹πŸ˜‹πŸ˜‹ I even like their honey duet ice cream. I think it’s called honey duet, I don’t remember. Vanilla ice cream with roasted cashews and honey πŸ˜‹πŸ˜‹
        Your dad said there is some ice cream parlor which is better than ideals and pabbas πŸ€”

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Goodreads says:

        I think Cherry Squares. That is also very good. They have sizzler ice creams there. Very tasty. You will love it.πŸ¨πŸ˜‹

        Like

      4. Rekha says:

        Sizzler ice creams πŸ˜‹πŸ˜‹πŸ˜‹ there was some sizzler place in mannagudda. I have been there a lot of times πŸ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

      5. Goodreads says:

        Is it naturalsπŸ€”?

        Like

      6. Rekha says:

        The sizzler place? I think it is called sizzler ranch. Naturals have sizzler ice cream range too? πŸ€”

        Liked by 1 person

      7. Goodreads says:

        I don’t know about naturals, but I’ve heard that sizzler ranch is good.

        Like

      8. Rekha says:

        You only asked me if it’s naturals πŸ˜› yes, sizzler ranch is good. Atleast it was, when I visited.. in 2010 πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

        Liked by 1 person

      9. Raj says:

        Sizzlers Ranch is our friends place.. nice place.. and that ice cream with honey is “Beehive” its my all time favorite..I just swallowed my saliva…:D

        Like

      10. Rekha says:

        Yessssss. Beehive. Duet is some other ice cream.
        I am still thinking about all that yummy honey and vanilla ice cream πŸ˜‹πŸ˜‹πŸ˜‹πŸ˜‹

        Liked by 1 person

  10. Megala says:

    Beautiful dream!

    Like

    1. Rekha says:

      πŸ™‚πŸ™‚ have you tried any mangalorean dishes, meg? The vegetarian ones πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Megala says:

        Yes, I tried a few, love them so much! πŸ™‚

        Like

Leave a Reply

