Oil on Canvas #10 and more

on

I am back with some more paintings! Alright, this is not going to be a regular affair perhaps. I have been a bit lazy. I haven’t done any writing as such. Though I said I would be writing flash fiction, poetry, blah blah… I haven’t done any! (except for one story). Reading research papers, doing some research work, working out a couple of math and other problems is taking up most of my time, and by the time I reach home, I am so tired that I sleep like a Cinderella. Oh wait, that was sleeping beauty, not Cinderella, right! Or, was it snow white?

I had painted about 5 canvases this summer. I got them all framed as they were to be given away as gifts. On my last post about paintings, I had mentioned that since most of my paintings are already framed, photographing them is difficult. Derrick suggested that I go ahead with photographing them, as “Sometimes the reflections you get on framed pictures add something to the image.” – quoting his exact words.

So, here I am, with a couple of photographs of the paintings – hence the title #10 and more. The guy who works with the framing did a very good job this time, experimenting with the hardboard colors (they go between the painting and the frame).

DSC_0005

 

I gave this one (below) to one of my favorite teachers. Apart from being my Math and Science tuition master, he is also my relative.

Thanks to him, I am good at Mathematics. πŸ˜€

And what I have for him is more than just respect. He says that I mean to him more than his grand-daughters. πŸ™‚ I am lucky to have such a wonderful, caring and loving person in my life. πŸ™‚

DSC_0012

The above painting was done on a black canvas. Before completion, it looked like this :

IMG_20170407_094657965

 

And, there it is, my reflection! I tried capturing in various angles, and I could see my reflection in every photo. Though, it is not very prominent in this one, I wish I could say the same about the next one…

DSC_0022

And, there I am!

DSC_0017

 

This one was looked okayish before framing. I was not very confident if I have to frame it or repaint it, and I decided to go with the former and Voila!

DSC_0019

I gifted the above painting to one of the retired IIT professor/neighbor. I have known him since childhood. We usually discuss philosophy and once in a blue moon – Electronics and Mathematics. The first thing his wife said when she saw the painting was- “Reminds me of the tulip gardens we visited when we were in Ottawa.” And, after sometime, he comes in and.. says “Ah! This reminds me of the tulip gardens we visited when we were in Ottawa!” Looks like this painting is always going to bring back some happy memories they had when they were in Ottawa. πŸ˜€

 

Meanwhile, I missed the below photograph from last week’s photo challenge -Collage.

DSC_0024

My SUPERHERO stamp collection. This was released sometime last year in the US. And, I had to get it. I received this as a gift from one of my neighbors. (He was in the US when this was released) Stamps are way better than chocolates. Anytime! It is always the same old Milky way, Bounty, Mars, M&Ms… So, stamps are better, right? Unless, it is some new Β variety of chocolate that is absolutely delicious!!

16 Comments Add yours

  1. Orange says:

    Beautiful paintings πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Rekha says:

      Thanks orange πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. David says:

    I like the paintings especially the girl/lady in the white dress. Use of a relatively inexpensive polarizing filter my help eliminate the reflection on glass when photographing your paintings. I say relatively inexpensive because some can be in the $US100 and $US 200 dollar range. I have a $US 20 filter that works just fine. They are also handy when shooting koi fish near the surface of a pond, and anything colorful in bright mid-day or early afternoon sun. For the latter removing the bright sun’s reflection gives you deeper more saturated colors.

    Like

    1. Rekha says:

      Hello David πŸ™‚ good to see you back.
      I think it’s time I update my camera equipment. I do not know about the polarizing filter options that are available in India. I have to check about that. About the second one, it was pretty cloudy so I had switched on the lights. So that explains my ghostly reflection in the photographs. Thank you so much for the information, I will surely check about filters πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  3. As always good ones R. My daughter too has painted the girl in the white dress but with water colours. I have posted the same in one of my posts.

    Like

    1. Rekha says:

      Thanks R.
      How come I missed seeing that post? Was it posted recently? I would love to see it. Can you please send me the link? πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Rekha says:

        That’s so beautiful, RπŸ™‚πŸ™‚ I cannot like the post from app, sorry about that. The painting is just wow πŸ™‚πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Will convey it to her. thanks πŸ™‚

        Like

  4. sotzlajanger says:

    Beautiful paintings. I see that you are so talented and gifted. Good in math, painting, writing and what more.
    I am zero in math and painting. I cannot even paint a stick. Haha!
    The lady in white dress is my favorite. ❀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Rekha says:

      Thank you Janger πŸ™‚ I was not very good in math before. But now I am.
      Glad to know you liked my paintings πŸ™‚β€

      Like

  5. calmkate says:

    all really stunning Rekha, you have talent! And you can guess my favourite considering my profile photo πŸ™‚
    And the little birdie is so cute, what a lovely idea to gift your own artworks to people who have supported you, very kind and thoughtful. Those stamps look pretty super, none of mine would compare … lol

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Rekha says:

      Haha, yes. πŸ˜€ The sunflower one is now on one of my neighbour’s wall πŸ™‚ some stamps look okay but a collection is a collection πŸ˜‰ btw, I still have the birdie painting with me. πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

      1. calmkate says:

        thanks for that kind thought but my life is too nomadic, can’t accumulate … πŸ™‚

        Like

    1. Rekha says:

      Thanks to you, Derrick πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

