Path of love

on

“Grandma, you cannot climb these steps anymore, let’s take the bridge.”

“No my child, I prefer to go by these steps. They bring back memories of olden days when Tony and I used to play here.”

“Who is Tony?”

“Ah Tony! The most handsome lad in our street. I was so smitten by him and he, by me. We were too young to understand the meaning of love. ”

“What happened to Tony, grandma?”

“Those were tough times, my child. Tony enlisted in the army. I never saw him again. How I wish I could see him one last time before …”

“Grandma, are you talking about Tony Williams? The old man who owns a candy store in London?”

“Is he young, tall, fair Β and has blue eyes?”

“Blue eyes, yes. But young? He’s old! ”

“Ah! I should pay a visit to the candy store sometime. May be, he is my Tony.”


 

Word Count : 150

Image Credits: J.S. Brand

 

Post submitted for PJ’s FFFAW.

Psst PJ, I used to blog under the name supercalifragilisticexpialidocious, so I am not new to FFFAW. πŸ˜€

33 Comments Add yours

  1. magarisa says:

    What a sweet story! Lovely take on the prompt.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Rekha says:

      Thanks Magarisa πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. Iain Kelly says:

    That would be an awesome reunion. Sweet tale.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Rekha says:

      Thanks Iain. πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Moon says:

    Such a sweet story , Rekha! Grandmothers are the sweetest!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Rekha says:

      Thanks moon πŸ™‚

      Like

  4. calmkate says:

    very sweet story Rekha, and love the photo .. reminds of a path I once took πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. Rekha says:

      Thanks Kate πŸ™‚ did you meet grandma’s Tony on the way? πŸ˜‰πŸ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

      1. calmkate says:

        no grannies that I can recall but maybe it was Tony when he was a wee bit older πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

        Like

      2. Rekha says:

        Hahaha πŸ˜‚

        Liked by 1 person

      3. calmkate says:

        we can all write fiction πŸ™‚

        Like

      4. Rekha says:

        Of course πŸ˜‰

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Varad says:

    Saw a recent Tamil movie along similar lines. Would be cool for the grandma if she gets to meet her old flame again.

    Like

  6. Rupali says:

    So sweet. I wonder how an Indian granny will fit here πŸ˜€

    Like

    1. Rekha says:

      Haha πŸ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Awww, the innocence of childhood love! I hope that if that is her Tony she will still see him as young and handsome! Great story!

    Like

    1. Rekha says:

      Yes πŸ˜€πŸ˜€ thanks PJ

      Liked by 1 person

  8. I almost forgot! Welcome to the FFfAW challenge! We are happy you have joined us. πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. Rekha says:

      Ah! I am the same Mary Poppins from supercalifragilisticexpialidocious, I am blogging under my own name now. πŸ˜€πŸ˜€

      Like

      1. Ahh, you are trying to confuse me. πŸ˜€

        Like

  9. Megala says:

    Great use of photo prompt!

    Like

    1. Rekha says:

      Thanks Meg πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Beautifully nostalgic

    Like

    1. Rekha says:

      Thank you so much, Derrick πŸ˜€πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  11. this is such a sweet story just like the colourful candies in the jar. hope grandma meets her Tony and they rejoice of their childhood days.
    http://ideasolsi65.blogspot.in/2017/07/the-worn-out-steps.html

    Like

  12. How delightful. I wonder if he sells those littel tubes love hearts in his sweetie shop?
    Click to read my FFfAW

    Like

  13. Orange says:

    So so lovely!
    It would be amazing if you would write a romantic encounter between the two πŸ˜›πŸ’™
    A very well written post, something out of the box! βœ”

    Like

    1. Rekha says:

      Haha. I am bad at writing love stories. πŸ˜› Thanks πŸ™‚

      Like

  14. I am hoping that it’s her Tony.

    Like

  15. Enkin Anthem says:

    Gotta wonder what they “played” that leaves such memories… πŸ™‚

    Like

  16. I wonder how that meeting went!

    Like

Leave a Reply

